What They Dont Teach You At Stanford Business School

Stuff you can't learn in B-school: LARRY CHIANG

I Used to Be Young, Book Smart and Poor

leave a comment »

By Larry Chiang

I am a college founder. Before I met my mentor, I was book smart and poor. Street smarts was taught in a book I read, “What They Dont Teach You at Harvard Business School”.

My mentor was Mark McCormack.

If he were in downtown palo alto, he would be soooooo old school, he’d be new school. Ever wonder why I’m alpha male even though I went to Urbana?! Ever wonder how I taught a class at Stanford with just a University of Illinois bachelors degree??

I regurgitate one man

The general population:
– Will experience startup failure 70%
– Attempts starting startups
– Throws hail mary’s for VCs $$
– Gets mentored to fail while at Stanford
– Looks for passion while they’re $70k in school debt

My company was started accidentally. But purposefully.

larry-chiang9-duck9-business-card_normal.jpg CEO of Duck9, Larry (@6502838008)
10/18/14, 11:34 AM
Be a #purposefulAE
#startupSchool

RT @startupschool: “I don’t think I ever decided to start a company.” – @jankoum of @WhatsApp

http://whattheydontteachyouatstanfordbusinessschool.com/blog/

I regurgitated Mark McCormack Mini Company Concept (at first I called it Larry Chiang Mini Company Concept because I wasn’t positive it’d work EVERYTIME)

bd26194fa93733b624ec22966dbdb9d9_normal.jpeg Larry Chiang (@LarryChiang)
10/18/14, 11:41 AM
What They Do Teach @StanfordEng #PurposefulAE

.click to READ WTDTYASBS.com/blog/

In short, be a purposeful accidental entrepreneur.

larry-chiang9-duck9-business-card_normal.jpg CEO of Duck9, Larry (@6502838008)
10/18/14, 11:34 AM
Be a #purposefulAE
#startupSchool

RT @startupschool: “I don’t think I ever decided to start a company.” – @jankoum of @WhatsApp

This “Austin Startup” article austinstartup.com/2013/03/how-to-be-an-accidental-entrepreneur-in-austin-purposefully is light years ahead.

bd26194fa93733b624ec22966dbdb9d9_normal.jpeg Larry Chiang (@LarryChiang)
10/18/14, 10:41 AM
#purposefulAE #LABCS3319 #LABCS austinstartup.com/2013/03/how-to…

The primary driver of Purposeful Accidental Entrepreneur is CTCFTR

Cross
The
Chasm
From
The
Right

I call this masterpiece, CTCFTR.

austinstartup.com/2013/03/how-to-be-an-accidental-entrepreneur-in-austin-purposefully

In short, learn some basic sales skills as a CS major. If the term “sales” makes you feel funny. I wrote five subroutines to help you practice sales as an engineer (that is what Mark McCormack did for me)

These 5 subroutines are called: “PopUpInternship”. You will have to google that.

A Mark McCormack mentee would do the opposite of the general population.
Will experience startup failure 70%
– Attempts starting startups
NO NO
DO AN LCMCC

– Throws hail mary’s for VCs $$
NO NO
GET MONEY W EUBM
– Gets mentored to fail while at Stanford
NO NO
WHY FAIL EVER?!

– Looks for passion while they’re $70k in school debt

NO NO
DON’T FOLLOW YOUR PASSION, FOLLOW YOUR EFFORT
http://bit.ly/mcuban710

Then practice selling like how mark Cuban recommends
http://bit.ly/mcuban711

Written by Larry Chiang

October 18, 2014 at 7:19 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

