What They Dont Teach You At Stanford Business School

Stuff you can't learn in B-school: LARRY CHIANG

Social Anxiety

leave a comment »

By Larry Chiang

Business school has bukoo networking events. These events made me nervous when I first went. Anxiety is real and I wanted to share my story of going from nervous and sweaty to confident and kinda over confident.

In honor of Foo Camp this weekend, I’m writing this near Sebastopol, Calif here in the SF Bay Area.

bd26194fa93733b624ec22966dbdb9d9_normal.jpeg Larry Chiang (@LarryChiang)
6/21/14, 8:52 AM
Anxiety in Rooms. How to beat back anxiousness

/1/ Pick up a piece of trash.

If there is a nametag on the floor or a sign that’s dropped I pick it up. It does not take confidence to do this.

It takes steel-will. For two seconds, commit to improving the party environment. This dove tails nicely with

/2/ Text me to pretend like you’re busy

When you text me http://www.twitter.com/6502838008, I’ll text back.

“Stay off your phone
Put your coat and bag down
Meet some new people”

/3/ Set an intention for your pain

Parties are incredibly painful when I first started networking. Lets set a goal for what you want this party to do for us.

/4/ Let people crash your selfie

I’m serious.

There are always singles floating around trying to network. In the above picture, there are even coupled people trying to join groups.

Look at how closely you coupled with your party-bosom-buddy. It feels safe with a party buddy but it’s hard to meet people when you have someone attached at-the-hip.

/4/ Make hot dogs.

In 2008, when I was at Foo as a nervous guest, I made food. Hot dogs.

It gave me the support of later speaking to speakers Re hacking hotel stays

Almost two years to the date, Mike Arrington got a credit card that I mentioned at Foo camp
http://bit.ly/mmpqq710

AND TO THINK, it all STARTED WITH 40 HOT DOGS!

/5/ Take notes of what people say at the party.

VIPs love this

(Courtesy Nora Barnard.

Photo credit LARRY CHIANG

/7/ Beat back social anxiety by being the event photo with your smartphone

Written by Larry Chiang

June 21, 2014 at 6:11 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

